skip to Main Content
Loading Events

« All Events

Irish National Ploughing Championships

September 15 - September 17

The National Ploughing Championships takes place each year in the month of September. The 2020 Championships will be held at Ballintrane, Fenagh, Co Carlow from September 15th to 17th.

The first inter- county ploughing contest took place in 1931 as a result of an argument between two lifelong friends, Denis Allen of Gorey, County Wexford and JJ Bergin of Athy, County Kildare. Each argued that their respective counties had the best ploughmen. This resulted in a challenge being called for. Therefore on Monday 16th of February 1931, the first National Ploughing contest took place in Mr W.K. Hosie’s field at Coursetown in Athy. Since then, the National Ploughing Championships has grown in size, year on year.It has expanded from requiring a small field of 26 acres to needing over 700 acres of land today.


September 15
September 17


National Ploughing Championships – Ballintrane
Fenagh, Co Carlow Ireland
+ Google Map
Back To Top
×Close search